New initiative?

Share your experiences and comments about Scientology's "Study Technology".
chap

New initiative?

Post by chap » Mon Oct 04, 2004 6:31 pm

I am a high school English teacher, and a few of us just got strange packages in the mail. Each package contains materials for us to review. The materials include four Hubbard books, a video, a lesson plan guide for teaching Battlefield Earth, and some info about a writing contest. It is unclear to me whether this is coming from the cult or just a publisher trying to drum up business

touchstone

Post by touchstone » Mon Oct 04, 2004 6:44 pm

Others here can answer this better than I, I expect, but it sounds very much like the cult is the origins. Check the return address and see if its one of the recognizable groups, such as Bride Publications. Only Hubbardeans would consider Battlefield Earth worth reading, much less studying.

Discuss this with whoever else received such materials-- this could easily be merely a first salvo in what might be a string of efforts to infiltrate. Cults of all kinds benefit from folks *not* talking to each other, sharing information.

Maybe some of the materials could be used as negative examples in a critical-thinking course? "Okay, kids, see how many logical fallicies you can identify on page eleven..." Our children desperately need the tools to make themselves less vulnerable to the world's many snake-oil salesmen.

olska

Post by olska » Mon Oct 04, 2004 7:12 pm

All L.Ron Hubbard books and materials are published by the Church of Scientology, through one of its front groups -- possible Bridge Publications, or Author Services International.

One of their groups sponsors a writing contest.

The material you received came from the cult, directly or indirectly.

chap

Post by chap » Mon Oct 04, 2004 7:14 pm